

Meeting of the Council Minutes - 4 June 2014

Attendance

Mayor Cllr Michael Heap (LibDem)
Deputy Mayor Cllr Ian Brookfield (Labour)

Labour

Cllr Jas Dehar Cllr Peter O'Neill Cllr Ian Angus Cllr Harbans Bagri Cllr Steve Evans Cllr Phil Page Cllr Harman Banger Cllr Val Evans Cllr Rita Potter Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Philip Bateman Cllr Val Gibson Cllr John Rowley Cllr Payal Bedi Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre Cllr Judith Rowley Cllr Peter Bilson Cllr Julie Hodakiss Cllr Sandra Samuels Cllr Caroline Siarkiewicz Cllr Alan Bolshaw Cllr Keith Inston Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Ian Claymore Cllr Andrew Johnson Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman Cllr Paul Sweet Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Roger Lawrence Cllr Susan Constable Cllr Linda Leach **Cllr Bert Turner** Cllr Claire Darke Cllr Elias Mattu Cllr Martin Waite Cllr Daniel Warren Cllr Bishan Dass Cllr Lorna McGregor

Conservative Liberal Democrat

Cllr Mark Evans
Cllr Barry Findlay
Cllr Christopher Haynes
Cllr Wendy Thompson
Cllr Christine Mills
Cllr Andrew Wynne

Cllr Patricia Patten Cllr Jonathan Yardley UKIP

Cllr Arun Photay

Cllr Malcolm Gwinnett

Employees

Keith Ireland Strategic Director, Delivery
Sarah Norman Strategic Director, Community
Martyn Sargeant Head of Democratic Services
John Wright Democratic Support Manager

The proceedings opened with Prayers

Item No. Title

1 To elect a Mayor for the ensuing year

It was moved by Cllr Thompson and seconded by Cllr Yardley and

Resolved

That Cllr Michael Arnold Heap be elected Mayor of the City for the ensuing year.

2 To appoint a Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year

It was moved by Cllr Steve Evans and seconded by Cllr Sweet and

Resolved

That Cllr Ian Brookfield be elected Deputy Mayor of the City for the ensuing year.

3 To pass a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor.

It was moved by Cllr Siarkiewicz and seconded by Cllr Photay and

Resolved

- That the council expresses to Councillors Milkinder Jaspal and Jasbir Jaspal it's grateful appreciation of their services as Mayor and Mayoress of the City during the 2013/14 municipal year.
- 2) That an illuminated copy of the resolution of thanks to the Mayor be engrossed and sealed with the corporate seal and be presented to the retiring Mayor with a suitable memento

The Head of Democratic Services to present a return of the Councillors elected on 22 May 2014

The Head of Democratic Services reported the names of the Councillors who had been elected on 22 May 2014

5 The Mayor to welcome new Members and to move a vote of thanks to former Members of the Council.

The Mayor welcomed Councillors Mary Bateman, Greg Brackenridge and Daniel Warren to the Council.

Resolved

That the Council expresses to former Councillors Matthew Holdcroft and Neville Patten it's grateful appreciation of their services as Councillors of the City

6 Minutes of previous meeting

Resolved

[NOT PROTECTIVELY MARKED]

That the minutes of the meeting held on 30 April 2014 be approved as correct record.

7 Communications

The Mayor gave details of the three events that would be held 23 June and 28 June to commemorate Armed Forces Day. The Mayor also gave details of the Civic Sunday service which would be held at the Collegiate Church of St Peter on 20 July.

8 The Appointment of Executive, Scrutiny and Regulatory Bodies etc.

It was moved by Cllr Lawrence and seconded by Cllr Johnson and

Resolved

- 1) That the membership of the Cabinet and the Cabinet Panels be noted
- 2) That the details of the Political Balance, Appointments to Scrutiny and Regulatory and Other Committees, Joint Authorities/Committees and Outside Bodies and Calendar of Meetings 2014/15 as detailed in the report submitted be approved subject to the following amendments.
 - · The Chair of the Standards Committee be Cllr Ian Brookfield
 - The Vice Chair of the Scrutiny Board be Cllr Findlay
 - The representative on the Integrated Transport Authority Overview and Scrutiny Committee be Cllr John Rowley not Cllr Judith Rowley
 - The Conservative Party representative on the West Midlands Joint Committee be Cllr Mrs Thompson
 - The representative on the Wolverhampton Festival of Remembrance Working Party be Cllr Mrs Mills not Cllr Thompson

9 West Midlands Integrated Transport Authority

It was moved by Cllr Lawrence and seconded by Cllr Bilson and Resolved

- 1. That the amended terms of reference of the West Midlands Joint Committee, as recommended by Cabinet on 13 November, be approved in so far as they relate to the executive functions of Wolverhampton City Council.
- 2. That the Leader of the Council be appointed as Wolverhampton's representative on the new West Midlands Integrated Transport Authority (ITA, together with a substitute).
- 3. That the Centro Members Joint Committee be established as per the draft Scheme of Delegation, as set out in Appendix 2, at the ITA's AGM in July.
- 4. That the Chief Legal Officer and Solicitor to the Council be authorised to agree and enter into such documents as are necessary to give effect to these decisions.

10 Changes to the Constitution

It was moved by Cllr Turner and seconded by Cllr Wynne and Resolved

That the amendments to the Constitution, as detailed in the report submitted be approved.